My Name Is Jermaine

My name is Jermaine
Motown Records, 1976

1. Let's Be Young Tonight
2. Faithful
3. Look Past My Life
4. Bass Odyssey
5. Who's That Lady
6. Lovely, You're The One
7. Stay With Me
8. I Just Want To Take This Time
9. My Touch Of Madness

In August 1976, Jermaine’s third album at Motown My Name Is Jermaine is released and he re-introduces himself at the label that his brothers by now have left to move on at Epic. For the album Jermaine worked closely with the rising young star Michael Smith, who wrote and produced three tracks for the album.

Among the other producers for the album were Hal Davis and Gregory Wright. Berry Gordy was the executive producer of the album. The album offers great up-tempo disco tracks and soulful ballads and reached #29 in the R&B charts and #164 in the Pop charts.

The opening track, “Let’s Be Young Tonight”, was released worldwide as a single with the strong bass rhythm instrumental track “Bass Odyssey” on the B-Side. 

On his 22nd birthday, December 11th 1976, Jermaine Jackson performed "Let's Be Young Tonight" on the U.S. TV show "American Bandstand". On that day, the record peaked on Billboard's Hot 100 charts at #55 and it peaked #19 on Billboard's R&B Singles charts. 

Other great tracks on the album are the up-tempo songs "Faithful" and "Look Past My Life", and the ballad "My Touch Of Madness", which was produced by Michael Smith.

Credit goes to Maarten Mulder for the discography information.


Let's Be Young Tonight
Bass Odyssey
Motown, 1976 


Music video